Monofrax Ltd.

Niche player for fused cast refractory materials

Monofrax produces fused cast refractory ceramic blocks. Due to the material composition, Monofrax’ products withstand the highest temperatures and have high wear resistance. The main components are high-grade zirconium oxide, aluminum oxide or chromium. Customers are primarily from the glass and steel industries.

Transaction & Strategy

Due to its integration into the RHI Group, Monofrax produced refractories for the mass market for a long time. As an expert for special materials with lower volumes, Monofrax was unable to achieve sufficient profitability during this period due to a lack of automation and therefore could not compete with other intra-Group suppliers. As a consequence, the company was sold to Callista.

In the carve-out process, Group services were replaced by internal structures. Simultaneously, third-party revenues were acquired in order to gain independence from RHI. A strategic reorientation back to a niche supplier of special products was carried out in order to revive the historical strength in this segment. Today, Monofrax appears on the market as a reliable partner with high-quality products. Major national and international customers trust both the material and production expertise of Monofrax.

Logo_Monofrax

Overview

Turnover: € 20 million
Industry: Refractories / Minerals
Employees: 117
Location: Falconer, New York, United States of America
Date of acquisition: June 2016
Seller: RHI AG (Vienna, Austria)

Contact:

Monofrax LLC
1870 New York Avenue
Falconer NY 14733-1797, USA
Phone: +1 (0) 7164 – 837 – 200
E-Mail: info@monofrax.com

Website:

Monofrax Ltd.

Nischenplayer für schmelzgegossene, feuerfeste Materialen

Monofrax produziert schmelzgegossene, feuerfeste Keramikblöcke. Aufgrund ihrer Materialzusammensetzung halten sie höchsten Temperaturen stand und besitzen eine hohe Verschleißfestigkeit. Hauptbestandteil sind hochgradiges Zirkoniumoxid, Aluminiumoxid oder Chrom. Abnehmer sind primär Kunden aus der Glas- und Stahlproduktion.

Transaktion & Strategie

Durch die Integration in den RHI Konzern produzierte Monofrax lange Zeit Feuerfestmaterialien für den Massenmarkt. Als Experte für Spezialmaterialien mit geringeren Volumina konnte Monofrax in dieser Zeit aufgrund fehlender Automatisierung keine ausreichende Profitabilität erreichen und sich daher nicht gegen andere konzerninterne Lieferanten behaupten. Die Folge war die Veräußerung an Callista.

Im Carve-Out wurden Konzerndienstleistungen durch interne Strukturen ersetzt. Parallel hierzu wurden Drittumsätze akquiriert, um unabhängig von RHI zu werden. Eine strategische Neuausrichtung zurück zum Nischenanbieter von Spezialprodukten wurde vollzogen, um die historische Stärke in diesem Segment wiederzubeleben. Heutzutage tritt Monofrax als verlässlicher Partner mit hochqualitativen Produkten am Markt auf. Nationale und internationale Großkunden vertrauen sowohl der Material- als auch der Produktionsexpertise.

Logo_Monofrax

Auf einen Blick

Umsatz: 20 Mio. €
Branche: Feuerfestmaterialien / Mineralien
Mitarbeiter: 117
Standort: Falconer, New York, USA
Akquisitionszeitpunkt: Juni 2016
Verkäufer: RHI AG (Wien, Österreich)

Kontakt:

Monofrax LLC
1870 New York Avenue
Falconer, NY 14733-1797,USA
Telefon: +1 716 483 7200
E-mail: info@monofrax.com

Website: